Scorchin Sessions Vol. 1 mixed By Super8 & Tab

New labels are conceived for any numbers of reasons, some distinct and others less so. From showcasing a new sound or A&R approach to the artist taking control of their own music, every one has its own end.

Cover Scorchin’ Sessions Vol. 1

Coming into being in order to expose just some of the new, high quality artist material arriving into their inbox, Super8 & Tab’s Scorchin’ Records was no different.

Indeed the quality & quantity received proved so high that the label last year swiftly opened its sister imprint, Scorchin’ Progressive. In the nexus between the two lies the sonic distillation of Super8 & Tab. A pinpoint blend of the musically cool, calm & collected and the floor-centrically fiery, it’s a constant recap of where the pair are at.

Today, through the medium of ‘Scorchin’ Sessions Vol.1’, the two labels collectively offer a futurespective of their new release season. From the rapidly upcoming to their late spring/early summer speaker-delighters to-be, it’s all here, ready for you now on ‘Scorchin’ Sessions Vol.1’.

Given the above, where else would you expect Scorchin’s first ‘Session’ to begin than in the chillsome progressive slopes, and even more specifically with the glacial ‘Lost Island’ from BetweenUs. Stockholm’s Sam Heyman follows up his 2020 ‘Nessus’ drop with newie ‘Corvus’, while Angel One’s appropriately beatific ‘Each Of Us’ pops its own brand of gooseflesh. Seeing a late-January single release, ‘Signal’ from Nick Hayes is up next before Francesco Sambero lands his third KO (after ‘Aperture’ & the ‘Ghosts EP’) for the label with the Katrine Stenbekk-sung ‘Someone Needs A Hero’.

On the eve of its release Miika & Janne commented: “This must be the most unique mix compilation from us yet. Not only because it’s the first of its kind on Scorchin’, but also in terms of how much we’ve worked together with our artists. All 17 tracks have been exclusively made for the compilation and we’re super proud of our artists and how much effort & heart they put into them. Scorchin’ Sessions Vol.1 is a great showcase for what Scorchin’ Records have to offer in 2021”

As the chime of Tom Klay’s ‘Astronaut’ fades, Progressive’s smoke erupts into Scorchin’ Recs fire as Emerge (of ‘Petrichor’ renown) brings more burn to the label’s door. Hot on the heels of his ‘Insight’ & ‘I Feel’ It’ outings is Avenia, as the Fin teams with Cali’s Jorza to deliver some ‘Fever’. Reznor (aka Rahat Rashid) is dropping double too, albeit in remix form as Ben McConnell’s skyscrapes on the mix of ‘How Could It Be’ and Reliquary’s goes turbo inferno on ‘2800 Miles’.

Bringing Scorchin’s 2021 preview to a high-pressure head are HamzeH, with his emotively bleep-soaked ‘Warlock’ and Ben McConnell, who returns with his rafter-blasting ‘Moonwake’.

Scorchin’s future is now – ‘Sessions Vol.1’s available to stream/purchase here!

More info on all of Super8 & Tab’s upcoming 2021 activities is available through the online resources below.

Super8 & Tab – Scorchin’ Sessions Vol.1 Tracklist:

01. BetweenUs – Lost Island
02. Sam Heyman – Corvus
03. Angel One – Each Of Us
04. Nick Hayes – Signal
05. Francesco Sambero feat. Katrine Stenbekk – Someone Needs A Hero
06. Zack Evans – Imri
07. Tom Klay – Astronaut
08. Mark Bester – Time
09. Emerge – Insight
10. Zack Evans – Skyborne
11. Emerge – I Feel It
12. Avenia & Jorza – Fever
13. Reznor – How Could It Be (Ben McConnell Remix)
14. With The Winds – Polaris
15. Reznor – 2800 Miles (Reliquary Remix)
16. HamzeH – Warlock
17. Ben McConnell – Moonwake

DJ Sasj/Sven A.S. Johnson

We invite your comments in the section below.